Opening a Bank Account in Japan as a Foreigner: What You Actually Need
You can’t get very far into life in Japan without a bank account — rent, utilities, and your paycheck itself usually all run through one. The good news is the process is well-documented; the less good news is that most major banks share the same eligibility rule that catches new arrivals off guard: you often can’t open an account the week you land.
The rule almost every major bank shares
Based on two of the banks most commonly recommended to foreign residents, the pattern is consistent: you generally need to have either been living in Japan for at least six months since entering the country, or be employed in Japan (with an employer that has an office here — working a part-time job doesn’t count as an exception at either bank). If neither applies yet — you’ve just arrived and haven’t started work — you may simply need to wait.
This matters because a fair amount of secondhand advice online claims certain banks waive this requirement entirely for new arrivals. Checking the banks’ own current terms directly, that’s not accurate: the six-month-or-employed rule is the standard baseline, not something you can route around with a workaround.
What you’ll need regardless of which bank you choose
- A valid residence card (or Special Permanent Resident Certificate) — you’ll need the original, not a photocopy, with your current address on it and time remaining before it expires. One bank in this comparison specifically requires at least 3 months remaining on your “Period of Stay” at the time you apply.
- A personal Japanese phone number — not your employer’s number, and not a friend’s. This is a hard requirement at some banks.
- To be 18 or older.
SBI Shinsei Bank
Shinsei is frequently recommended to foreign residents, and its requirements match the general pattern: you need to be a resident of Japan, have lived here 6+ months (or be working at a company with a Japan-based office — part-time jobs don’t qualify), and have your own Japanese phone number. People with diplomatic, official, or short-term visa status aren’t eligible, and neither are corporate applications, PO box addresses, or joint accounts. If you’re classified as a foreign politically exposed person, you’ll need to open your account in person at a branch rather than by mail.
For identification, you can use your residence card (original, current address, unexpired) or a Japanese driver’s license that’s been issued for more than six months. Branch services are mainly conducted in Japanese — some branches have English-speaking staff, but availability isn’t guaranteed, so bringing someone who speaks Japanese is a reasonable precaution if you’re not confident in the language yet.
SMBC Trust Bank PRESTIA
PRESTIA has a reputation as one of the more foreigner-friendly options, largely because of its English-language support and international banking features — but it runs on the same core eligibility rule: 6+ months in Japan, or employment here. If you’re applying with a residence card, the expiration date on your “Period of Stay” needs to be at least 3 months out from your application date.
Where PRESTIA differs is the online application path: you can apply without visiting a branch if you have a Japan-based SMS-capable phone number and an email address, aren’t a foreign politically exposed person, and your tax residency is limited to Japan (or Japan and the US only). The process takes a minimum of 10 business days from application to receiving your account details and a multi-currency Visa debit card. One detail worth planning around: your card is sent by registered mail to the address on your ID and won’t be forwarded if you move, so it’s worth applying only after you’ve settled into your permanent address. Also worth knowing upfront: if you’re a foreign national, you’re expected to close your PRESTIA account before you leave Japan for good.
Quick comparison
| SBI Shinsei Bank | SMBC Trust Bank PRESTIA | |
|---|---|---|
| Core eligibility | 6+ months in Japan, or employed here | 6+ months in Japan, or employed here |
| Minimum age | Not specified on the page reviewed | 18 |
| ID required | Residence card (unexpired) or Japanese driver’s license (6+ months old) | Residence card, with 3+ months left on Period of Stay |
| Application method | Primarily at a branch | Online application available, or by mail |
| Language support | Mainly Japanese; some English-speaking staff at select branches | English-language support is a core feature |
| Time to open | Not specified on the page reviewed | Minimum 10 business days for online applications |
If you haven’t hit the six-month mark yet
If you’ve just arrived and don’t yet qualify under either path — you’re not employed yet and haven’t been in Japan six months — your realistic options are to wait until you meet one of the two conditions, or to check with your employer, since being employed at a company with a Japan office is the qualifying condition that lets you skip the six-month wait at both of the banks covered here.
Conclusion
Don’t assume you can walk into a bank the week you land — the six-months-or-employed rule shows up consistently enough that it’s safe to plan around it rather than hope for an exception. Once you do qualify, the actual paperwork is straightforward: residence card, a personal Japanese phone number, and — depending on the bank — either a branch visit or an online application with a bit of a wait for your card to arrive.



コメント